Mosimane selected for the IFFHS Manager of the Year award


Al Ahly head coach Pitso Mosimane has been nominated for the 2021 Manager of the Year award from the International Federation of Football History and Statistics (IFFHS).

After a good start with the Red Devils, which started with his victory in the CAF Champions League and the Egyptian Cup in the final stretch of 2020. Mosimane continued his domination the following year.

The South African guided Al Ahly to third place in the Club World Cup after beating South American champions Palmeiras in third place.

READ: El-Shennawy nominated for IFFHS Goalkeeper of the Year award

Later in the year, Mosimane won the CAF Supercup and his second consecutive CAF Champions League in three months. During their continental run, the Reds have conceded just six goals and scored 26 goals in 13 appearances.

Pitso Mosimane

Despite losing the league title to their big rival Zamalek, Mosimane’s side were still the most successful team in the Egyptian Premier League with 72 goals.

These accomplishments earned him a nomination for the IFFHS Manager of the Year Award for 2021 alongside his compatriot Manqoba Mngqithi, head coach of the Sundowns, and current head coach of Al Masry Moeni Chaabani.

Mosimane will compete with UEFA Champions League champion Thomas Tuchel, Pep Guardiola of Manchester City, La Liga champion Diego Pablo Simeone and former Egyptian national team manager Javier Aguirre.

Complete list of nominees:

  • Thomas Tuchel (Germany, Chelsea)
  • Josep Guardiola (Spain, Manchester City)
  • Mauricio Pochettino (Argentina, PSG)
  • Zinédine Zidane (France, Real Madrid)
  • Unai Emeri (Spain, Villarreal)
  • Ole Gunnar Solskjær (Norway, Manchester United)
  • Hans-Dieter Flick (Germany, Bayern)
  • Julian Nagelsmann (Germany, Leipzig)
  • Diego Simeone (Argentina, Atlético Madrid)
  • Antonio Conte (Italy, Internazionale)
  • Christophe Galtier (France, Lille)
  • Yuriy Vernydub (Ukraine, Sheriff)
  • Renato Gaúcho (Brazil, Flamengo)
  • Abel Ferreira (Brazil, Palmeiras)
  • Alexi Stival “Cuca” (Brazil, Atlético Mineiro)
  • Pitso Mosimane (South Africa team / Al Ahly SC)
  • Manqoba Mngqithi (South Africa, Mamelodi Sundowns)
  • Moeni Chaabani (Tunisia, Esp Tunis)
  • Jim Curtin (United States, Philadelphia Union)
  • Santiago Solari (Argentina, CF America team)
  • Javier Aguirre (Mexico, CF Monterrey)
  • Juan Reynoso (Peru, Cruz Azul team)
  • Leonardo Jardim (Portugal, Al Hilal FC)
  • Gi dong Kim (South Korea, Pohang Steelers)

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.