How many continents are there and what are they?


There are different continents that stretch between different regions of the Earth.

While the continents formed the same way, various elements differentiate these land masses.


There are seven continents around the worldCredit: Getty – Contributor

How many continents are there and what are they?

There are seven continents across the world.

From largest to smallest, the continents are:

According to National Geographic, continents total approximately 57 million square miles of land and make up the majority of land on the earth’s surface.

The continents began to form almost four billion years ago


The continents began to form almost four billion years agoCredit: iStock – Getty

How did the continents form?

Continents began to form almost four billion years ago based on studies of rocks found in ancient parts of North America, shortly after the formation of the Earth.

A massive ocean covered the Earth at this time and only a small part of the crust was made up of earth.

Studies show that materials built along the edges of tectonic plates crashed into each other to create rock that rose to the surface, according to National Geographic.

Around 240 million years ago, a single giant landmass that scientists called a Pangea supercontinent occupied almost all of the world’s land.

Pangea began to separate and move away, which created the beginnings of continents around 200 million years ago.

Where are the continents?

Asia, home to sixty percent of the world’s population, stretches from the eastern Mediterranean Sea to the western Pacific Ocean.

Africa, which is about three times the size of the United States, is connected to Asia by the Suez Isthmus in Egypt.

North America, which has the greatest range of climates, stretches from the Aleutian Islands in the northwest to the Isthmus of Panama (south).

South America, which came together only three million years ago and is made up of 12 countries, is connected to North America by the narrow Isthmus of Panama.

Antarctica, which has no living human population, only guest scientists, is part of the Antarctic Circle and is the windiest and coldest place on Earth.

Europe, containing about seven percent of the world’s land and 40 countries, is separated from Asia by the Ural Mountains.

Australia, which is the smallest continent in the world, is located in Oceania between the Indian Ocean and the South Ocean.

The first map of the continent hidden under Antarctica dubbed “Earth’s deepest land” revealed

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.