Canadian Professional Rodeo Association announces 2021 award winners – Red Deer Advocate


The Canadian Professional Rodeo Association has announced the recipients of the 2021 awards.

Several repeat winners top the list, determined by the votes cast by the top 20 competitors in all major events, novice competitors and CPRA contract members.

Brett Gardiner is recognized as the Canadian announcer of the year for the tenth consecutive time, a record. Commentator, teacher, speaker and family man, Brett brings his unique talent to every rodeo performance. Dennis Halstead is another recipient of the award which has been selected as Comedy Act of the Year, also for the tenth time.

Other repeat winners include Duane Ashbacher of Lazy 2 Rodeo and Dress Act of the Year, Full Throttle Trick Riders (Shelby Pierson and Piper Yule).

Vern McDonald of Bar C5 Rodeo was named Inventory Entrepreneur of the Year. McDonald’s (along with its C5 Rodeo team) continues to make its mark by producing exceptional rodeos on both sides of the 49th Parallel. Rodeo Timekeeper and Secretary Karry Krystal receives the Janet Vold Memorial Award.

Among the top stocks of 2021 is Macza Pro Rodeo’s CFR-NFR super star, 118 OLS Tubs mare Stevie Knicks, who won the accolade for the second year in a row. The best Bronc saddle horse of the year is the Calgary Stampede W-16 Wild Cherry. The 12 year old CFR and NFR selected gelding is the sire of the legendary Rated Coconut, Flavored Cherry and is also a triple CFR champion. And Vold Rodeo’s 545 Timber Jam is the best bull of the year. The Hereford muley cross – home-bred at Ponoka Ranch – was selected for the 2018 PBR Canada Finals.

Other award-winning rodeo titles include Curtis Cassidy’s Wrestling Horse of the Year, Dashin Haze (Tyson) which is recognized for the third consecutive year; Justine Elliott’s mare Blondys Starlight (Blondy) who is honored as the barrel racehorse with the most heart for the second year in a row and Keely Bonnett’s heel horse of the year, Cruz, also a winner for the second time. Logan Bird’s Peso is Tie Down Roping Horse of the Year while Grady Branden’s Junior won Heading Horse of the Year.

Also announced today are award-winning timekeepers Maxine Baird, who has outstanding 32 CFR appearances to their credit, and Brenda Vold, who will head to her 16th final. CFR bullfighters are Brett Monea, boasting an impressive tenth CFR, Ty Prescott (fourth appearance) and CFR debutant Kris Buffalo. The pickup men are Tyler Kraft (second CFR) and Tyler Thomson who is making his maiden trip to the Peavey Mart Centrium in Westerner Park from November 3-7. The alternate selection man (on call) is Jason Resch.

All CAPL award winners will be recognized on November 2 at the CAPL Champions Night at the Cambridge Red Deer Hotel and Conference Center.

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.